DFBarracks - Forums




Delta Force Barracks Forums - Powered by XMB 1.9.11
Delta Force Barracks Forums
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Creating a zip to upload to map database..
Eagle_Eye
Senior Admin
***********


Avatar


Posts: 8864
Registered: 9-7-2002
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey,not Stupid

[*] posted on 7-19-2004 at 02:13 PM
Creating a zip to upload to map database..


This is a little tutorial on what you should be doing to create a zip for upload to our Map Database..

Covers all versions of Delta Force..

The files you need to include.

a. A text file, so the person downloading knows what's in the zip, it should contain your name, map name, game version, game type, and any info that is required to run that map. example..

Map Name: Multi Story Car Park V1.0
Game Type: 8 Per Side Player TDM (16 Player) and 16 Player DM
Author: Eagle Eye
Game: DFBHD full Version

Notes:
16 player (8 per side)TDM and 16 Player DM with Med and Ammo pickups.
A custom built multi story car park for CQB


Thanx.
Eagle Eye
email: eagleeye@dfbarracks.com


b. bms file, the file the game uses
c. mis file is optional, the file the Med uses
d. pcx file. BHD intro pic file.
e. til file. BHD tile file.
f. bin file. BHD custom made bin file.
g. wac file. BHD wac file

The compression software..

We only accept the zip format for compressed files.
Go to wizip.com and download the trial. Click Here

Install Winzip.

Using Windows Explorer, create a Folder somewhere, the temp folder is always a good place. Name this folder the same as your map.

Locate your files in your game directory with windows explorer, and copy them to the folder you just created.

Open the new folder, highlight all the files, right click, and look in the context menu for winzip, you should see a number of options, choose add to "xyz".zip (xyz will be the name of the directory where you have the files you highlighted) . Now look in your directory, you will find a new zip file ..rename it to what you want..now upload it.

Don't forget, you will need a valid screen shot for your upload.

Regards
EE

[color=00ff00](Edit 12-14-07 FALCON)[/color]

Upload the screen shot in the SCREEN SHOT portion of the map upload only !!!PLEASE!!!! do not include SCREEN SHOT in ZIPFILE.

The MDB bandwidth is at its max we are currently trying to make room for new maps so please be courteous to other mappers and STAFF by not including screen shot in ZIPFILE.














View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Reddini
Corporal
***




Posts: 220
Registered: 7-2-2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 8-12-2004 at 12:07 PM


do you accept self extracting zip files?




The most obvious sign that there is intelligent life out
there is that it hasn't tried to contact us.

MY MAPS|E-MAIL ME



View user's profile View All Posts By User
Eagle_Eye
Senior Admin
***********


Avatar


Posts: 8864
Registered: 9-7-2002
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey,not Stupid

[*] posted on 8-12-2004 at 01:04 PM


Not that I know of..cos they have an .exe file extension, AB created the site, so I'm not sure, but I'd say no, try it, and find out, but have a normal zip ready to upload just in case..

EE









View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
perigrine falcon
Map Rater
*******




Posts: 1684
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: Iowa
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-28-2004 at 04:30 AM
when submitting maps....


make sure file name, and zip file are named the same as the mapname in map description. so map can be found easily in hosts maplist

please dont put files into a folder before zipping them.

when they get extracted they end up in a subfloder within the game folder and will not show up in the hosts maplist(map will not get played unless it is first moved from out of the subfolder into game dirrectory).

to select more than 1 file at a time use hold shift, left click and drag to highlight files with a selection box or use hold ctrl left click to select files individually
View user's profile View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
michaelvoodoo
Private
**




Posts: 42
Registered: 3-23-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: CEDE NULLIS

[*] posted on 6-12-2005 at 01:10 AM


while trying to upload a zip i read that the file limit is 300kb,

mine is a map for joint ops and is 500+kb
due to all the files in the post above,

what files can i cut to get to the submitted limit?

cheers
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Eagle_Eye
Senior Admin
***********


Avatar


Posts: 8864
Registered: 9-7-2002
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Grey,not Stupid

[*] posted on 6-12-2005 at 06:57 PM


That file size should still go up OK..

EE









View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
michaelvoodoo
Private
**




Posts: 42
Registered: 3-23-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: CEDE NULLIS

[*] posted on 6-13-2005 at 07:06 AM


cheers look for Moo Moo Island
View user's profile View All Posts By User
skill
Grunt
*




Posts: 9
Registered: 9-25-2006
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 10-15-2006 at 12:27 AM
trouble?


im having troulbe uploading a map,even the SS wouldnt upload.there were some kinda warnings on the top of screen?any tips i would appreciate. thx 1/4
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Assassin Xaero
DFB Map Rater
*********


Avatar


Posts: 1985
Registered: 4-18-2005
Location: Missouri
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 10-15-2006 at 12:43 AM


Make sure you select the game, and also, the screenshot can not have any spaces in the name...

screenshot.jpg would work
screen shot.jpg will not work









‡ BHD ‡ BHD:TS ‡ JO:TR ‡

View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
sgt roc
Private
**




Posts: 35
Registered: 10-14-2003
Location: costa mesa , california
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-28-2007 at 12:13 PM
uploading maps


Eagle, I am having all kinds of trouble uploading map to the site. I hadnt done any since TFD and was having trouble at the screenshot segment of process. I too ss from AW folder and opened in photoshop as .gif, .jpg, .pcx, .pct. every one of them cut off in the middle of loading SS. In reading your post I realized that I had spaces in name, went back and changed all names, no good. Even tried new sreen captures with no space in name, same problem. Any suggestions?
thnx roc.





View user's profile View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
Assassin Xaero
DFB Map Rater
*********


Avatar


Posts: 1985
Registered: 4-18-2005
Location: Missouri
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-28-2007 at 12:17 PM


Having some issues with space in the MapDB at the moment...








‡ BHD ‡ BHD:TS ‡ JO:TR ‡

View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2012 The XMB Group
[Queries: 15] [PHP: 71.1% - SQL: 28.9%]












Copyright © 2002 - 2008 All Rights Reserved - DFBarracks.com
Site Design by A.Bullet - ScreamingDemon.com